My First Keitai

My old phone was faithful, but during phone calls, I could barely be heard, and I hardly texted anyone on it (Even though it is technically a texting phone).  So, for my new phone, I decided I wanted a normal, Clam-Shell Phone. Seeing the beautiful designs of the Japanese Keitai Denwa (Mobile Phone), I went on a mission to acquire one. This is the result. I present to you, the Softbank 740SC.

Opening the box, we find the normal things that are found in a Cell Phone box: Some instruction manuals and pamphlets.

A set of instructions from Samsung and a yellow leaflet on how to remove the back plate to insert the battery.

The instruction booklet.

Some warnings in the booklet of when not to use your Keitai.

An example of the English section of the booklet.

Now for the main event: The phone itself.

The phone is very sleek and thin.

On the left side of the phone, we have the Volume Rocker, an Infrared receiver (Not sure what this is really called), and a place to hook a cell phone charm.

On the front is the charger slot, what I assume is the speaker, and the light that illuminates when you receive a phone call or a text message.

And on the right, we have the MicroSD Card Slot and the Headphone Jack. Unfortunately, the Headphone jack is not a 3.5 mm jack.

The back of the phone. The camera is a 2.0 Megapixel. Not great, but the phone is a minimalist phone, so it’s fine for me.

Opened, you can see how thin the phone is.

The interior of the phone is sleek and glossy. Very appealing.

As you can see, the number pad is complete with Hiragana characters, grouped by syllables, and used when you text.

The Keypad also lights up with a nice blue.

The screen is large and very vibrant.  Note the bars in the upper-lefthand corner. The phone does work here in America, despite being a Japanese Keitai (It was Software Unlocked). All you need to do is insert an acceptable SIM card. If it did not work, you would instead see the word “OUT” in red.

The main menu.

You can also have the menu and the entire phone in Japanese.

As it is a Japanese phone, you can text in Japanese. Texting on the phone, at least in America, is limited to SMS. You won’t be able to do MMS.

The available languages on the phone.

To give you an idea on the size, I’ve put the Keitai next to a manga.

To compare thinness, I will compare it to my iPod Touch.

To conclude, I am very happy with the phone. It has a nice design that you do not see in many American phones, and it is simple. People I call say that they can hear me much better than before, and it feels better in my hands than my previous phone did. If you are looking to get a nice, simple, Keitai, this is a good first choice.

4 responses to “My First Keitai

Leave a Reply

