Evangelion 2.22: You can (not) Advance Blu-ray (Hong Kong Version)

After watching the latest installment of the Rebuild of Evangelion series, I was eager to get my hands on a physical copy. Luckily, I was able to find and pick up the Hong Kong Blu-Ray version of the release from YesAsia (Please excuse the crappy camera work and picture quality). Why did I pick up a version from Hong Kong? One simple reason: English Subtitles.

The Blu-Ray box was inside a plastic sleeve, with some information on it.

The specs on the back of the plastic sleeve with the two different types of subtitles: Traditional Chinese and English, the latter being the reason I bought it in the first place.

The inner case slides out to reveal a black cover with a smooth etching of the title.

Opening the case revealing the Blu-Ray and a sleeve containing two items..

The first is a leaflet (I think that’s what they are called) giving some background to some of the characters, Angels, Eva Units, Extras information, Credits and Chapter listings. The back of the leaflet includes some “Making Of” related information, all written in Chinese.

The second is a Blank CD-R with an Evangelion touch. I got Mari, but not sure if the print is random or varies with types of release.

Now, some of you may be wondering “Will it play on my Blu-Ray/PS3?”

Yes, it will. Here I have it playing on my American PS3. To my knowledge, all Blu-Ray from Asia (except China and Mongolia) are Region A, meaning Blu-Ray that are Region A will play in Asia and the Americas.

In terms of picture quality, it looks stunning. Some say it is slightly degraded from the Japanese Blu-Ray version, but I have not noticed the difference. Perhaps those who did see a difference have the Sharingan or some other Vision-enhancing property.

Overall, I am quite satisfied with the Blu-Ray. It will be a while until a proper release is done in America, but for Evangelion fans who live in America and would like to watch this film in the highest quality possible and can not wait until Funimation releases it, picking it up will not disappoint. If you do not own a Blu-Ray player or PS3, there is a DVD version being offered, but it is Region-3 so you would need a Region-Free DVD player.

As for YesAsia’s service; I was satisfied. The package took about a week to get here, although in my opinion the packaging could have used more protection from possible mishandling, though I am sure there were more shipping options and I missed them.

For more pictures please refer to my figure.fm post here

Leave a Reply

